Anselem Sanyatwe and Owen Ncube have been slapped with US sanctions for their role in human rights abuses related to political repression in Zimbabwe.

“These designations demonstrate continued U.S. commitment to promoting accountability for human rights abuses.  The State Department urges the Government of Zimbabwe to immediately end state-sponsored violence including against peaceful protesters, civil society, labour leaders and members of the opposition in Zimbabwe, and to investigate and hold accountable those responsible for human rights violations and abuse.

Concurrently, the Treasury Department removed sanctions on Ray Kaukonde, Shuvai Ben Mahofa, Sithokozile Mathuthu, and Naison Ndlovu, all of whom were previously designated pursuant to Treasury’s authorities but are deceased and/or no longer meet the sanctions criteria.  Removing previously designated persons from OFAC’s Specially Designated Nationals and Blocked Persons List demonstrates that sanctions do not need to be permanent, and that targeted sanctions reflect realities on the ground in Zimbabwe.