Police spokesman, Senior Assistant Commissioner, Charity Charamba has not been sacked, according to a new police statement.

“Further to today (yesterday)’s media reports regarding the ongoing reorganisation of the Zimbabwe Republic Police, the Acting Commissioner-General of Police wishes to inform the public and the media that only the following eleven members of the police service have retired,” said Commissioner Rabson Mpofu (Planning and Development)

Comm Mpofu listed the retired officers as including Commissioners Grace Ndebele and Mekia Tanyanyiwa. He said Senior Assistant Commissioners relieved of their duties were Godfrey Munyonga, Justice Chifunye Chengeta, Douglas Jabulani Nyakutsikwa, Robert Tendero Masukusa, Erasmus Makodza, Prudence Chakanyuka, Eve Mlilo, Grace Maenzanise and Munyori Taedzerwa.

The spared members included Deputy Commissioners General Innocent Matibiri, Levy Watson Sibanda and Josephine Shambare, and Senior Assistant Commissioners Charity Angeline Charamba, Wiklef Makamache, Edward Fusire and Angelina Guvamombe.